in , ,

Finalists at the Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) Awards finally announced


Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) is a leading pan-African entrepreneurship and innovation non-profit. The top finalists at the 2020 AWIEF Awards have finally been announced at a ceremony following the two-day AWIEF2020 Virtual Conference. The year’s theme is: “ ‘Reimagining business and rebuilding better’.

The annual AWIEF Awards went through a nomination process that identifies and celebrates the top female entrepreneurs across different African industries.

According to the AWIEF website, the organization actively promotes women’s innovation, entrepreneurship, networking events, conferences, exhibitions, awards, and development programmes.

AWIEF supports excellence in entrepreneurship and innovation among women-owned businesses across different sectors cut across the 54 African countries. This is the 6th edition of the Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Conference held as a virtual conference on December 2 and 3.

24 women founders ad entrepreneurs are responsible for driving economic growth and development across Africa. They were selected from a pool of finalists competing for the 2020 AWIEF Awards.

Irene Ochem, the founder and chief executive officer at AWIEF said in statement, “The impact of the global pandemic has been disproportionate and devastating, and women are showing exceptional resilience.”

The High Commission of Canada in South Africa is one of the partners of AWIEF in their eCommerce Capacity Development Programme targeting women across South Africa. AWIEF2020 is also backed by APO Group, WESGRO, Nedbank, and AGRA.

Here are the finalists;

Young Entrepreneur Award 

  • Technoplus by Sazia Souza (Mozambique)
  • Hannah Lavery by Hannah Lavery (South Africa)
  • KJK Online Communications  by Olajumoke Odumola (Nigeria)
  • Erith Health Services by Asomaniwaa Owusu-Ansah (Ghana)

Tech Entrepreneur Award

  • Agrizilla by Claudette Akinpaye (Rwanda)
  • Response24 by Abimbola Adebakin (Nigeria)

Social Entrepreneur Award

  • Willette Safehouse  by Rita Stryker (Liberia)
  • The Green Institute by Adenike Akinsemola (Nigeria)
  • Doris Mollel Foundation by Doris Mollel (Tanzania)
  • Junior Stars Youth Development Programme by Mariam Mell’Osiime Mpaata (Kenya)

Agri Entrepreneur Award 

  • Homes Industries by  Victoria Mwafulirwa (Malawi)
  • Champion Grocers by Jacqueline Mukashyaka (Rwanda)
  • PRA by Armelle Sidje Tamo (Cameroon)

Creative Industry Award

Hannellie Coetzee (South Africa), Ayanfe Olarinde (Nigeria), Alice Muyambo (Zambia).

Energy Entrepreneur Award

  • Easy Solar by  Enoyonam Mosia (Sierra Leone)
  • Destra Energy Group by Amma Serwah Boateng (Ghana)

Empowerment Award

  • MUSODEV by Porcho Marguerite Sogoba (Mali)
  • Afrikapu by Nasreen Aleey (Kenya)
  • Qabale Duba Foundation by Qabale Duba (Kenya)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Robyn de Villiers, CEO & Chairman BCW Africa (South Africa)
  • Daisy Molefhi, ABM University College (Botswana)

You can register for the AWIEF2020 Virtual Conference and AWIEF Awards here.


What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Egypt logistics payment platform ILLA raises 6 figure round

ITU innocvation challenge winners

Women innovators bag most wins at the 2020 ITU Innovation Challenge