TechInAfrica – If you haven’t been active—meaning, if you haven’t logged into your Twitter account—for at least six months, Twitter might delete your account as a part of their clean-up program to purge inactive accounts. On November 26th, 2019, the microblogging giant said that this purge is designed to help people perceive “more accurate, credible information people can trust”.
Another part of it is that the social media giant encourages registered users to actively use their platform; committing to it once they register and not just leave their account unhandled. This action also forms as Twitter’s notion to serve public conversation.
But if you’ve uncertain whether you’ve logged in or not during the past six months, do not fret! Twitter said that the company will start reaching out to users via email when they’ve hit the six-month period—to notify them that their accounts are going to be deleted from the internet.
How do we know this? Well, Twitter has recently updated their Rules and Policies segment of their help desk. “We encourage people to actively log in and use Twitter when they register an account. To keep your account active, be sure to log in and Tweet at least every 6 months. Accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity,” the company stated.
This, while also promoting inactive people to use their accounts more, can also be addressed to accounts belonging to deceased people. However, the policy states that in no circumstances would Twitter grant access to the account, which would prevent deletion.
Yeah, I’d be upset too if my perfect username is already taken by someone who has been inactive since 2010. Yikes.